What Happened (and where was I when it did).

I love words (which is good because I am a writer) but one of my favorite words has been changed and I hate it. What I want to know is: When did the word “FORM-idable” become “FOR-mid-able?” I’ve noticed that all the newscasters (that is, the few that I watch) and their guests are now saying for-mid-able and I’m against it. Why take a nice sounding aristocratic word and turn it into a snobbish English sounding word?

I hate it when this happens. I can even remember when “Gay” meant having a festive, jubilant, formidable good time. Well, maybe it still does. I wouldn’t know.

Johnny B.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

